Difference Between Public and Personal Folders in HiDrive

Each HiDrive user automatically gets a personal folder. In addition, you can also use a public folder. We explain the difference here.

Each user automatically has a personal folder: Only the individual user has access to this folder and can store and manage their own files. The files in this folder are for the user only. This applies to both administrators and users. When you order and use HiDrive for yourself, you're automatically the administrator.

There is also a public folder: This is used to allow multiple users to access the folder and the files it contains. Any file in this folder can be opened and managed by any user who has access. Access is granted by the administrator.

It is possible to move files from the personal folder to the public folder. Conversely, this is only possible if you are an administrator or have appropriate rights as a user for the file.