If you have changed the DNS settings of your domain, you can easily and safely reset them to the IONOS default settings. On the Reset Domain Settings page, you can choose which of the settings you customized should be reset.
Resetting Your Domain Settings
The upper section of the domain settings you have edited lists the assigned usage type and the settings you have applied to your domain. You can select these individually for resetting. Each line shows the effect of resetting the setting.
The lower area shows you all domain settings that already use the IONOS standard settings. It is not necessary to reset these settings.
- Once you start the process by clicking Reset Now, you can no longer undo it. You must then re-enter any settings that have been reset accidentally.
- Only the DNS settings that are relevant for the services of IONOS are reset. User-defined DNS records may not be visible in this overview and must be deleted manually. Existing DNS records are displayed in the DNS section of the respective domain. You can delete the DNS record in this area at any time.
By using the following button, you can now reset your domain settings. After selecting a domain, you will be offered the corresponding action directly. Then you can choose which of the domain settings you have edited should be reset.
Alternatively, these step-by-step instructions will show you how to navigate the Control Panel yourself.
Log in to IONOS and select DOMAINS & SSL.
Click on the gear symbol for the desired domain under Actions and select DNS.
Click Reset Settings.
Select the domain settings that you want to reset.
Click Reset Now.
Checking the Settings Reset
After you have selected and confirmed the domain settings to be reset, a corresponding message appears on the detail page of the domain. The DNS settings are reset to the IONOS default settings - this usually only takes a moment. During this period, the domain has the status Reset.
The process was successful if the status of the domain is Active after updating the page.