What Happens After Domain Cancellation

Once cancelled, your domain is removed from your hosting contract and cannot be managed in your IONOS Control Panel. It is then deleted by the relevant registry at the end of its term. However, it is recoverable for a certain period before the deletion.

Please Note

If your domain is connected to a website and/or email accounts, they will no longer operate after the cancellation date.

Depending on your domain extension, you will be able to recover it after cancellation under certain conditions:

Once a domain is deleted by the registry, it becomes openly available for re-registration for the standard registration fee.

Log In and Register Another DomainRegister Another Domain

Cancelling Entire Contracts

Unless a contract is cancelled, it will remain active after the domain cancellation, which may result in you continuing to incur your regular contract fee. To cancel your contract and all of its features, please see the article Cancelling an Entire Contract.