Recent scandals with Facebook’s data protection policies have left many users feeling betrayed by the social networking giant, which has been facing accusations of failing to protect personal information from third-party use. Deleting your Facebook account is the best and most permanent way to protect your data from prying eyes. So how exactly is it done? This guide walks you through the steps to...
Right now, TikTok is exploding in popularity. In Asia, the Chinese video-sharing service has long been the first stop for short video content fans who want to sing or dance along to their favourite songs. The app offers users the option to record their own short video clips, edit them and upload them to the TikTok platform, alongside a host of social networking features.
In 2018 the Chinese app, which has proven especially popular with the younger generation, was among the most downloaded apps globally, attracting new users rapidly. In Asia, TikTok has become one of the most serious competitors of established social media platforms such as Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram.
The app for music fans is not to everyone’s taste, however. We show you how you can delete or temporarily deactivate your TikTok account and what you should be mindful of in the process.
Deleting your TikTok account: a brief introduction
As is the case when deleting your Facebook account or deleting your Instagram account, deleting your TikTok account means all your data and content will be wiped. The entire account is deleted permanently along with all content and cannot be restored. If you would like to permanently deregister from TikTok (at least with your current, individual profile), you should proceed as follows:
- Log into your TikTok account
- Tap the three-dotted icon at the top of your profile page
- Select “Manage my account”
- Tap “Delete account”
- Receive and enter the confirmation code
- Tap “Delete account” again
Deleting your TikTok account: a step-by-step tutorial
In the following sections we lay out the complete, step-by-step process for deleting your TikTok account.
Step 1: Open the TikTok app and log into your account. On your profile page, tap on the three-dot icon to the top right. The “Privacy and settings” menu will launch.
Step 2: Tap on the first item “Manage my account”. At the bottom of the menu that opens, you will find a button with the name “Delete account”. Tap this:
Step 3: Enter your mobile number if you have not previously saved it in your account. Next, tap “Send code” to receive a text with the confirmation code for deleting your TikTok account. Then enter the received code in the field provided for this purpose and confirm your entry with “Continue”:
Step 4: A brief summary opens that informs you about what data you will no longer be able to access after deleting your account. If you are certain, tap the “Delete Account” button:
Step 5: Finally, a dialogue box opens for the final confirmation. Tap “Delete”. You will then be automatically logged off, and your account will be deactivated for the next 30 days and permanently deleted at the end of this period.
Restore TikTok after deactivating your account: a quick guide
Before a TikTok account is permanently deleted from the operator’s database, it goes into an ongoing30-day deactivation mode. This means that a deleted account can be reactivated by the user within 30 days after they confirm deletion. To do this, log into the app as you normally would. A dialogue box then opens, where you can tap the “Reactivate” button to restore an account that has previously been deleted.